Coke habit…( the soda )

I can’t remember the last time I had a Diet Coke. It’s been forever. How long is it going to take for the cravings to go away? I have a bad day and my mind still jumps to the thought that just a few sips could help the stress go away.

I fully understand that I self medicate. I have no idea how to fix it. I was thinking I could replace it with a healthy habit but I don’t know how to go about it. When I’ve had a bad day the last thing I want to do is add to it with trying to think through healthy options. Coke was easy, cheap, and effective. Food is easy, cheap, and effective, right up until I figure out that I’m adding weight and so more stress. It’s a vicious circle I’d love to get off.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandy Ford
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 21:21:30

    I’ve heard that it takes a couple of months for the cravings to start really going away. So far none of my sisters-in-law have been able to do it. I wish I had some sage advice for you. One thing that helps me is that I have no processed/snacky food in our house. If I want it bad enough to load up five children and go to the store, then I think it’s a totally justified splurge. Otherwise, it’s not worth it. Lately cinnamon gum has been helping me with the emotional eating. I have no clue why, but it does. I really hope you find something to help calm down the nerves!!!!!

    Reply

    • thefindingofme
      Aug 27, 2011 @ 08:16:28

      We have tried keeping the processed foods out of our house too and wow is it hard. 90% of the grocery store is processed now. Then we wonder why there is an obesity and diabetes epidemic.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

